Welcome to the official webpage of the Brock International Prize in Education


2008 Brock Prize Nominees

Roy Barnes, Former Governor, Georgia
The Barnes Law Group
Attorneys at Law
Marietta, Georgia
J.D. from the University of Georgia School of Law

Governor Roy E. Barnes successfully introduced education reform measures to significantly improve student achievement in Georgia. Governor Barnes was co-chair of the prestigious Aspen Institute’s Commission on the No Child Left Behind Act. Its 75 recommendations are presently under review by Congress.


John D. Bransford
James W. Mifflin Professorship
Professor of Education and Psychology
College of Education, University of Washington
Seattle, Washington

John Bransford is likely the leading “learning scientist” in the United States today, synthesizing research and developing learning tools to advance student learning.


Richard P. DuFour
Author and Educational Consultant
Moneta, VA

By developing and sharing the highly recognized methods to implement the Professional Learning Communities approach to improving K-12 education, Dr. Rick DuFour has improved teaching and learning throughout the United States and the world. The results of this work has transformed education in every school that has adopted the model.


Barbara Lee Smith
Emeritus Professor, Former Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
The Evergreen State College, Olympia, Washington

Dr. Barbara Leigh Smith has been a leading researcher, promoter, and practitioner of student-centered learning communities since the 1970s. A founding director of the Washington Center for Improving the Quality of Undergraduate Education at Evergreen State, she co-directed the National Learning Communities Project from 2000 to 2004.


Vincent Tinto
Distinguished Professor of Education, Syracuse University
Syracuse, New York
Senior Scholar, The Pell Institute for the Study of Opportunity in Higher Education, Washington, D.C.

Professor Vincent Tinto is currently Distinguished University Professor at Syracuse University and chair of the higher education program. He has carried out research and has written extensively on higher education, particularly on student persistence, retention and the impact of learning communities on student growth and attainment, especially for low-income, under-represented, and under-prepared students.